Dhaka,   Thursday 30 November 2023

The South Asian Times | সাউথ এশিয়ান টাইমস

Gautam Lahiri elected PCI president

Published: 00:28, 25 September 2023

Gautam Lahiri elected PCI president

Veteran journalist Gautam Lahiri-led panel has made a clean sweep in the 2023-24 election of Press Club of India (PCI).

Lahiri's panel bagged all the 21 posts including five office bearer posts of the club. The opposition panel drew blank.

The election to the club's managing committee was held on Saturday and result was declared this afternoon.

 Lahiri, also a known face in journalist fraternity in Bangladesh, was elected president of the club for third term and was the first Bengalee President with his election to the post in 2016 election of the club.

According to the election results, Manoranjan Bharati of NDTV has been elected as Vice-President while Neeraj Thakur as General Secretary.

 Mahtab Alam of Wire has been elected as joint secretary and Mohit Dube of News Nation Channel as Treasurer.

In the 16 managing committee, all panelist of Gautam's panel were elected. Among them, four are women and they are-Veeneta Thakur (All India Radio), Pragya Singh (NewsClick), Suravi Kanga (Caravan) and Meghna Dhulia (Times of India). Another Bengali Ashish Gupta of Asomya Protidin was also elected.

Other elected members of the managing committee are- Anish Singh (Asia Net), Ashraf (Asia Times), Abdul Bari Masud (Salar Urdu), Jatin Gandhi (Jagoron Media), Manobendra Vashit (PTI), Mayank Singh (New India Express), N R Mohanty (Independent journalist), Rabindra Kumar (CNN 18), Shankar Kumar Anand (New 18), Sunil Negi (Independent), Telaporu Srinivasan (TV 5).

Share This: